HIGHLIGHTS OF 2012 ~ PART 2


neopol film banner 2013 work white red

Part 2 of this summation of 2012 on nEoFILM.

  • 30 DAYS OF WRITE September saw the first unbroken month of posts, beginning in mid-August but concluding in October. After this point I went to the Monday, Wednesday, Friday post structure which I still operate today and plan to continue for as long as possible. There should always be a post on those three days, with more articles and reviews posted on the other days if possible or necessary.

    Tony-scott_620_1569321a
    Tony Scott – 1944 – 2012
  • NOW PLAYING Have been producing their review podcast for about 5 years but I’ve only just started to listen to them in the summer of 2012. There style is different with a long, commentary style reviews but I like it, recommend it and wish them all the best, even tough I disagreed with their review of most of the Star Trek films!
  • RIP TONY SCOTT 2012 saw the loss of one of cinemas foremost action directors, Tony Scott who committed suicide in August. R.I.P. Tony.
  • The Dark Knight Rises: 10/10!!!THE DARK KNIGHT RISES (2012) 10/10 & THE COLORADO SHOOTINGS I had been building up to the release of The Dark Knight Rises since 2008 and was horrified to hear about the shootings at the midnight showing of the movie on July 20th. The film went on to become my film of the year and July was also dubbed TDKR Month, with the film’s logo appearing at the bottom of every review and article which was posted during that month.
  • hard_way_xlgTHE HARD WAY 8/10 (1991) was rediscovered after over 20 years. I loved this film as a teenager and revisited it again this year. Dated but still cool.
  • TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY (2011) 8/10 Being a huge fan of Gary Oldman, this Oscar Winning adaptation was hot on my watch list and thanks to my step-children, who bought me a copy for Fathers Day last June, I finally got my chance.
  • 350TH REVIEW – (NAZI) TITANIC (1943) 7/10 Had anybody heard about this until The History Channel showed their 2 hour documentary on the film? Well, I have and it happened to be my 350’s review, as well as an interesting and rare addition to the blog.
  • blu-ray-3d-logoNEW TO OUR HOUSE – 3D We moved house last April and treated ourselves to a new TV. 3D has finally arrived in our home and though it’s not the projector which I would prefer, it still gives us to option to see 3D films as they were intended, the highlight of which has to be Martin Scorsese’s Hugo 3D (2010).
  • ED WOOD (1994) 9/10, is in my opinion, Tim Burton’s best work  and was finally reviewed in 2012.
  • 7_samurai_poster七人の侍 SEVEN SAMURAI (1954) 9/10 Finally, after years of waiting I sat down and watched (Akira Kurosawa) masterpiece and you know what? I liked it.
  • THE GENIUS OF MICHAEL BAY? (1/5) My article on the controversial director was ranked just 1/5 on by some of my readers. It will be a hard sell to convince anyone that Bay is a decent director but the money must surly speak volumes. And at least this proves that I’m not a yes man and I will stand by my views regardless of how the so-called majority will say.
  • 300TH REVIEW – SE7EN (1995) 10/10 was my 300th review and a top rated film to boot.
  • THE STORY OF FILM: AN ODYSSEY (DOCUMENTARY SERIES FINAL PARTS) 2/10 Mark Cousins’ 12 part series left me cold and I feel that he missed the point as he told us a very personal story of film. I get it but I just didn’t like it one bit.
  • MOVIE CLASSICS AT THE BRIDGEWATER HALL We were treated to a night out at the Bridgwater Hall for a concert of film music in December 2011. Nothing like hearing some of your favourite scores played live.
  • 1ST REVIEW OF 2012 RAGING BULL (1980) 10/10 and finally, my 1st review of 2012 scored 10/10. Raging Bull (1980), which I watched over the Christmas of 2011 for the first time impressed me.

Well, that’s it. The highlights of 2012, the year in which the world was again supposed to end, but it didn’t. This was the year which in The X Files cannon would be the year of the alien colonisation and the would be reshaped by Roland Emmerich. The Mayans where wrong but in terms of nEoFILM, it was probably one of the most defining years for the blog as it has being building and building each month, with more posts than ever before and a solid plan for 2013.

Stay tuned and enjoy. Thank you all for reading, commenting and following nEoFILM.

Leave a Reply

