BUGSY MALONE


1976

DIRECTOR: Alan Parker

NOT A PART OF MY COLLECTION

Will we be adding this to our collection? NO

There’s not much to say about Bugsy Malone, apart from I DON’T GET IT! I didn’t really see it much as a child which may explain why I seem to be the only person of my generation who didn’t like or have warm feelings about it, because lets face it, that’s all it. Nostalgia. But when we look at films such as The Railway Children or Willy Wonka And The Chocolate Factory, both classic 70’s children’s classics, we can be as nostalgic as we please because they ultimately stand up, but Bugsy Malone was barely a financial success at the time from what I understand.

The film makes no sense whatsoever, besides being an interesting  exercise in the novelty of using children to tell a story set in one of, if not America’s most violent crime periods. It may have been funny in its day but I missed it then and now, I found myself watching it with my wife, who like me is in her early 30’s and my step-children, ranging from 13 to seven, and my wife was the only fan. The children of today found it both “boring and stupid” and to be honest I see their points.

I want to say that this was nice idea or that it was well a made film but I can’t as even the dance routines didn’t hold up. Maybe it was both and maybe I’m missing the point but to me, this is one of the most overrated films that I have ever seen.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ceeque says:

    I remember seeing this as soon as it made it to the tv screen and even then thinking what an utter waste of celluloid it was ….

    1. nEoPOL says:

      Obviously, I couldn’t agree more… 😉

Leave a Reply

