GHOSTS OF THE ABYSS 3D: PREMIUM EDITION


GHOSTS OF THE ABYSS 3D PREMIUM EDITION, 2003, Region 2 DVD

Finally, after almost 2 years since I first discovered that I had missed this Limited Edition set, I have won a copy on ebay. It will set me back about £32 which, though a lot more than I like to spend on a DVD’s these days, to me it’s worth every penny.

I already have the Region 1 standard 2D edition but I first saw this on the Imax screen back in 2003 and it was not only my first Imax experience. It was also my first 3D film full stop, so it has sentimental value to see it again, as it was intended, though be it in the less than perfect anaglyth format. This version also has a DTS soundtrack rather than Dolby Digital, with DTS often being the norm for Imax DVD’s in an effort to preserve the powerful sound schemes of Imax films.

This is the Japanese edition of this IMAX 3D film, very limited, vary rare and incredibly hard to get hold of. Minimum cost is about £30.00 and is most likely only available via ebay etc. It will most likely become available as a 3D Blu-ray in the near future, but I’m quite dismayed that I missed this release. Granted it was only available from the very select Eastern Asian market, but this was out at a time when I spent an obsessive amount of time looking for DVD’s so I’m at a loss as to how I missed it in the first place! A review of Ghost Of The Abyss 2D Extended Version is available, as this is the copy widely available and the one which I already have.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

